Our Team

The professional staff of EHT Traceries is comprised of architectural historians, historians, preservation planners some of whom are trained as architects and civil engineers. All are trained in the discipline of research and evaluative methodology with graduate degrees in historic preservation, architectural history, and/or history. Specializing in the critical investigation and examination of American architecture, the senior staff contributes various individual areas of specialization, significantly broadening the firm’s ability to meet a wide range of needs. Committed to the highest levels of academic standards, EHT Traceries is particularly skilled at transferring the results of thorough study into the realm of practical application.

The firm is associated with professionals from other disciplines including photographers, archaeologists, conservation specialists, landscape historians, and historic interiors specialists who regularly work with EHT Traceries on a consultant basis.

EHT Traceries has built its reputation by providing work of the highest quality, maintaining an objective posture and a commitment to comprehensive preparation. All professional personnel meet the National Park Service qualifications (36 CFR 61 Appendix A) as architectural historians.

EHT Traceries is recognized as a Small/Disadvantaged/Minority-Owned Business Enterprise by the Maryland Department of Transportation, the Virginia Department of Transportation, and the District of Columbia Department of Public Works.

The Principals

Emily Hotaling Eig

Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Laura Harris Hughes

Chief Operating Officer

Afshin Vettovaglia

Chief Financial Officer

The Staff

Kim Daileader

Director of Technical Preservation Services
Senior Project Manager

John Gentry

Senior Architectural Historian
Project Manager

Eric Griffitts

Director of Survey & Documentation
Senior Project Manager

Neale Grisham


Erin Howe

Lead Historic Tax Credits
Senior Project Manager

Kate Hurwitz

Director of Administration

Mia Maloney

Historic Preservation Specialist

Devon Murtha

Architectural Historian

Emily Pelesky

Cultural Resource Specialist

Nicole Starego

Architectural Historian

Alyssa Stein

Lead Entitlements
Senior Project Manager

Sarah Vonesh

Director of Preservation Planning
Senior Project Manager

Anna Dubansky

Senior Historic Preservation Planner